introductory questions from a newbie here....please be nice :)

NYMetsFan
Just browsing

introductory questions from a newbie here....please be nice :)

Hi so i am new to the Meraki world and recently picked up a new client with a very vanilla setup (small office with a single access point). Im off-site so i don't have 8x5 experience to what's happening on their network

i am trying to get caught up and review the dashboard, set up alerts...basic configurations like that.  I have only been on-site twice but there seem to be more wifi errors and disconnects then should be happening.

How "good" are the RF Profiles and is it recommended they be used? (i feel like i should apply the open office profile)

any suggestions for "good" alerts to enable to help me keep good tracking of issues? (i have already enabled some)

I am not sure if a site survey was done. 
I did see the curriculum link and will be reviewing some of that to get up to speed.

Any other recommendations for a newbie getting up to speed would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

8 Replies 8
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

I suggest you to start reading the documentation.

https://documentation.meraki.com/MR/Wi-Fi_Basics_and_Best_Practices

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.

i am...but also this is a VERY simple setup....

thank you

BlakeRichardson
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Was the network setup before they became your client or have you installed it?

1. Have you checked wifi drivers or up to date.

2. What method of authentication are they using.

3. Is the access point showing any interference?

4. What channel is the access point using, if it's set to a static channel try changing it to Auto.

the network was set up before i showed up. 
yes i have made sure wifi drivers are current.