MS250 can't configure layer 3 settings

Solved
Qubus
Here to help

MS250 can't configure layer 3 settings

Hi all,

I'm new to the Meraki hardware and so far i'm really pleased with how it works and how fast you can configure the devices. But I have a problem with configuring 2 MS250 switches that i want to enable for Layer 3.

I will explain everything i did so you have a clear picture of the setup.

To configure the switches I booted them both up with a network cable in both of them, and i saw they were recognised in the Meraki portal.

Then I powered them off and removed the network cable from only the 2nd switch.

Then i plugged in the stacking cables in both of them.

From switch 1 port 1 to switch 2 port 2, and from switch 1 port 2 to switch 2 port 1.

Now they booted up and I configured the stack, so time to configure the layer 3 settings.

I open a switch and click in the left bottom corner the link "Configure layer 3 settings".

The message i receive is "You don't have any interfaces or static routes configured

Create an interface to configure layer 3 settings on your switch".

So i click on "Create Interface" but then i see the error message "view failed to load".

I receive this message on both switches.

I tested in Chrome, Edge and FireFox but in all browsers i receive this message.

There is a firmware upgrade available (current firmware 11.27, new firmware is 12.17), but we already have some Meraki devices currently in production so i cant upgrade the firmware at this moment.

The error message doesnt give me a clear explanation why it cant show the requested view.

Did I skipped a step? Did i made a mistake somewhere above? Is it an error in the current firmware?

If im correct, you cant upgrade the firmware of individual devices, only the whole network.

Is there a workaround for this?

Kind regards,

Niels

1 Accepted Solution
GIdenJoe
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal