Multicast stream timeout

Savage
Here to help

Multicast stream timeout

I have been banging my head on this issue for quite a while now and I have read through all the other posts I could find here related to Multicast configuration. You would think it wouldn't be this hard, after all, as I have 25+ years of network engineering experience, achieved my CCIE in R&S, have the Cisco Press Multicast Routing book which I have read and studied cover to cover, and even took a Cisco bootcamp on Multicast Routing.

It feels like there is either a bug or an IGMP version mismatch going on, possibly. I am trying to get my four AT&T U-verse TV set top boxes working through an MS210-24P running MS 11.31 firmware. I have my AT&T gateway router (Arris/Motorola BGW210) connected to the switch on a port auto-negotiated to 1Gig set for Access mode on VLAN 192. The set top boxes are connected at 100Meg to access ports on VLAN 192. I have enabled the global IGMP snooping setting and disabled Flood Unknown Multicast traffic. I have also configured an L3 interface on VLAN192 and enabled the IGMP snooping querier option.

No matter what I do, the TV streams always end up timing out. Sometimes they fail when the box tries to switch from unicast to multicast after the first ten seconds. Other times it lasts until the default multicast dead timer hits at 240-270 seconds. Even stranger is twice when I was testing last night, the stream kept running past the normal dead timer and made it to approximately 7 and a half minutes. I thought I had finally fixed the issue only to run into failure yet again.

Is there a bug or IGMP version issue or am I doing something wrong? I used to have this working without any issues on a Cisco Catalyst 3524XL switch and I did nothing more than enable IGMP snooping. It can't be this complicated, can it?

10 REPLIES 10
NolanHerring
Kind of a big deal

Should just work but since your having issues, have you reached out to support yet?
Nolan Herring | nolanwifi.com