Detecting multi-gig WAPs not connected at 2.5Gbps

cm11
New here

Detecting multi-gig WAPs not connected at 2.5Gbps

Hi,

Is it possible to have Meraki switches (MS350 & MS355) report on ports that are NOT connected at 2.5Gbps? 

I am not technical but am trying to support our technical team from a business point of view - we have a lot of short Cat5e cables, some of which likely perform well enough to support 2.5Gbps - I'd like to identify which DO NOT, ie which we must replace if we are to get the most out of our already-connected MR44 WAPs.

Thanks in advance

9 Replies 9
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Maybe it will help you.

https://documentation.meraki.com/MS/Monitoring_and_Reporting/Switch_Port_View

But remember, if the port has a 1Gb connection it will never reach 2.5Gb speed.

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.

Thank you, that partly answers the question but doesn't cover 2.5Gbps - what would a 2.5Gbps port connected at 2.5Gbps show? The 1Gbps icon or the 10Gbps icon? Or is there a separate document that applies to switches that have 2.5Gbps capabilities?

alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Have you checked the port status to validate which speed is being displayed?

You can check some information on dcloud dashboard.

https://dcloud2-sjc.cisco.com/content/instantdemo/intro-to-the-cisco-meraki-platform-v1

alemabrahao_0-1688224038727.png

alemabrahao_1-1688224054723.pngalemabrahao_2-1688224071064.png

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.
RaphaelL
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal