2 - Wans - 2 - VLans - InterVLan Routing

jeremyd1
Conversationalist

2 - Wans - 2 - VLans - InterVLan Routing

I have two separate ISP Wan connections.  One is my main data network, the other is used for Voip services.  Both plug into a MS350-48LP Switch with Trunk ports.  I have a vlan 200(192.168.168.0/24) setup for The Voip Wan, and change the Native Vlan on all ports that phones are connected to vlan 200.  I am now adding some other services on vlan 200 that i would like to access from my native vlan1 (172.21.196.0/22).  I still want all wan traffic on vlan1 to go out gateway of 172.21.196.1 and all wan traffic on vlan 200 to go out 192.168.168.168.    I am new to vlan and layer 3 routing and not sure what the best approach is to accomplish this.  Any input is greatly appriciated.

thanks,

Jeremy

6 REPLIES 6
GIdenJoe
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

The topology description is not really clear to me at least because you are mixing WAN and VLANs together.

First let's get your ISP stuff straight:

The VoIP subnet: 192.168.168.0/24 is that a subnet YOU created behind your L3 switch?  Or is there an ISP router that has that subnet on it's LAN side that is then trunked to your L3 switch on VLAN 200.  Or does the trunk come in directly from the provider and is the gateway on that subnet somewhere at the ISP itself?

Your DATA subnet: I have to assume this is 172.21.196.0/22.  Which device is 172.21.196.1 then?  Your L3 switch?  Or also a router from the ISP?  Is this the only path to the internet?  If not is there a firewall which is routed via your L3 switch and vice versa?

jeremyd1
Conversationalist

192.168.168.0/24 is the subnet on my Sonicwall firewall/router, it is trunked to L3 switch on vlan 200.  All internet traffic from VLAN 200 goes through the sonicwall with one isp.