MV API rather useless for mass use in retail analytics: Please implement this

theshmike
Getting noticed

MV API rather useless for mass use in retail analytics: Please implement this

I don't know how important this is to you guys out there, but from the talks that I had, I feel that many people are rather disappointed about what you really can achieve with the MV cameras in the sense of people counting and people detection.

if you don't want to read all the complaining stuff, just skip the next block 🙂

---start of complaining---

Meraki continues to praise the analytics functions for the cameras. The truth from my point of view is, that the analytics features, especially for retailers are rather useless. Don't get me wrong, I am not here to just let out my frustration. I write this post in the hope, that some folks at Meraki @MeredithW @Saralyn  read this and start thinking about my suggestions.

I work in retail and I especially spoke to many other customers that do so also. Every one I spoke to stated, that they are not going to replace their existing security cameras with ones from Meraki. BUT IF the Meraki ones would have a significant additional benefit in retail analytics, especially in people counting and people analytics the would instantly go for it.

I was at a Meraki roadshow event in 2019 November and Meraki praised some new MV model by showing a 3rd party dashboard which had counters for people in/out by gender. When we tried to implement this afterwards it turned out, that gender detection will just don't work.

Then I went to a talk with Todd Nightingale and asked him whether Meraki is going to implement some more analytics features into the camera software itself instead leaving all the analytics stuff up to the customers or 3rd parties. He stated, that Meraki is never going to do so, because it's not legal and he will go to jail then. I don't know how Axis does it, but anyways...