Site to Site VPN

SOLVED
Gordon
Getting noticed

Site to Site VPN

I am new to Meraki firewalls.  I am in the process of configuring a template for our MX84 that is on order.  What I am trying to figure out and I have read the online documentation is setting up a VLAN with a unique subnet.   I see how to do that under Addressing and VLANs.  What I am trying to determine is, what is the purpose of this.  I currently use pfSense for my firewalls and I didn't have to do anything like that.  I used IPSEC and pointed to the subnets at each end that I wanted to be able to converse.  

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ww
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

for assigning automatic a unique subnet to each mx you deploy that you bind to the template.

you dont need to use templates or this option if you dont like/need it

https://documentation.meraki.com/zGeneral_Administration/Templates_and_Config_Sync/Managing_Multiple...

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ww
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

for assigning automatic a unique subnet to each mx you deploy that you bind to the template.

you dont need to use templates or this option if you dont like/need it

https://documentation.meraki.com/zGeneral_Administration/Templates_and_Config_Sync/Managing_Multiple...

Gordon
Getting noticed

Thanks for the response.  Reading this about templates, I realize I probably don't want to use them.

PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

You only use templates when you have lots of sites.  You would not use a template if you only had a single site.

@PhilipDAth wrote:

You only use templates when you have lots of sites.  You would not use a template if you only had a single site.

I realize that now.  I was hoping to use the template to pre-program my firewalls as we haven't received them yet.  After reading the document recommended by ww I realize that is not the best approach.

PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal