SD-WAN SETUP WITH DUAL ISP

Prince
Just browsing

SD-WAN SETUP WITH DUAL ISP

Good day!

Newbie here and I was not around during the configuration of our Meraki devices as the contractor had it preconfigured for us.

We had a total of 3 offices on which we use SD-WAN to connect from each other.  Office 1 is MX84 and Office 2 & 3 are MX64. Recently, we added secondary ISPs on all our offices. However, if the primary ISP of office 1 was down, it cannot connect to office 2 and 3, same goes with other offices.  All our primary ISPs had public IPs, however, our 2nd ISPs (Starlink) don't have since it is a residential plan and these changes from time to time.

Is there a way to connect our offices when a primary ISP went down even without those public IPs of our secondary ISP?  And what would be the configuration/setup for this.

Thanks in advance.

4 Replies 4
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

This is automatic, so there is a high chance that it is a problem with Starlink.

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.

It's very simple even without a public IP.

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Firewall_and_Traffic_Shaping/MX_Load_Balancing_and_Flow_Preferen...

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

What was the specific test you performed?  Unlugging the primary ISP from the head office?

That should failover and work.  Especially if all of the sites have a public IP directly on the primary WAN interface of the MX.

Amin_Costa
Conversationalist