Non-Meraki VPN - IKEv2 issues (?)

RaphaelL
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Non-Meraki VPN - IKEv2 issues (?)

Hi ,

I would like to start off by stating that I'm a complete noob when it comes to VPN , IPSEC , SA , IKEv2 and all that stuff.

We have a simple setup. One MX peering to a Palo Alto. 

RaphaelL_0-1724254869318.png

Phase 1 works fine and Phase 2 works fine.... most of the time. 

As you can see ( even if it's blured ) there are like 10 subnets configured. 

When we establish the tunnel , ALL 10 subnets are working fine. After couple hours ( something like 6-24 hours ). Some of the subnets stop working. 

I can see the log on the MX that : msg: <remote-peer-2|13> closing CHILD_SA net-2{42} with SPIs cccdb01e(inbound) (54640 bytes) 9812d7e5(outbound) (144750 bytes) and TS XXXXXXXX/28 === XX.XX.15.0/24

However when ever I try to bring the SA up by sending traffic to .15.0/24 it doesn't. Either I have to bring to whole tunnel down and up OR I can bring it up by sending traffic from the Palo-Alto side. 

I have confirmed that the timers of Phase 1 and 2 are matching on both sides ( 28800s and 3600s )

I'm running MX18.211.3 and I have a case open.

I have read the multiple posts here and many of the documentation pages but I couldn't find anything except : https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Site-to-site_VPN/Site-to-Site_VPN_Settings#NOTE_For_IKEv2

Any troubleshooting ideas ?

Cheers , 

6 Replies 6
KarstenI
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

The Link you posted and here with some more details:

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Site-to-site_VPN/IKEv1_and_IKEv2_for_non-Meraki_VPN_Peers_Compar...

The IKEv2 implementation of the MX is different to approx. 90% of commercial firewalls out there.  It's a shame that the MX team doesn't care. Or they care in a way that they hope customers move the peer to AutoVPN. Sadly, for me, some customers moved entirely away from the Meraki Fullstack because of MX limitations.

RaphaelL
Kind of a big deal