MXDevice Swap of WAN Ports

Solved
RKSierra
New here

MXDevice Swap of WAN Ports

We have traffic shaping setup on one WAN1 (100MB) port and later procured a larger throughput link (WAN2 1 GB) is there a simple way with minimal downtime to move the uplink and traffic shaping or is a physical cable swap the best approach? I am new to Meraki and have spent most my time with Cisco routers. We essentially want WAN2 to become WAN1 and maintain the traffic shaping on WAN2 as it has 1 GB throughput because the 100 MB WAN1 is being saturated.

My mind sees this as a cable swap but if there can be a config change instead that is more ideal. Is there a way to ensure the config is swapped with no loss in traffic or missed lines of configuration?

1 Accepted Solution
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Wouldn't it be easier to change the configuration level instead of reconfiguring the interfaces?

alemabrahao_0-1694536881879.png

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Firewall_and_Traffic_Shaping/MX_Load_Balancing_and_Flow_Preferen...

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Wouldn't it be easier to change the configuration level instead of reconfiguring the interfaces?

alemabrahao_0-1694536881879.png

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Firewall_and_Traffic_Shaping/MX_Load_Balancing_and_Flow_Preferen...

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.

Great solution, thank you both. Makes sense. 

RaphaelL
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal