MX84 with a transit public /30 and a public /26

Jucabala
Just browsing

MX84 with a transit public /30 and a public /26

I am new to Meraki devices and I would like to check how I can do this:

https://docs.netgate.com/pfsense/en/latest/book/routing/routing-public-ip-addresses.html

In my case I will have a /30 and a /26, let's say:

WAN  200.200.183.132/30

LAN   100.100.33.192/26

Any guidance is welcome.

Best Regards

6 REPLIES 6
NolanHerring
Kind of a big deal

PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

The /30 just runs between you are your ISP, nothing special there.

Typically with Meraki you would NAT between your /26 and your inside network.

jdsilva
Kind of a big deal

@PhilipDAth wrote:

The /30 just runs between you are your ISP, nothing special there.

Typically with Meraki you would NAT between your /26 and your inside network.

You can also use the /26 IP's in the 1:1 NAT and the 1:Many NAT sections instead of directly assigning them on the LAN. 

WillN
Getting noticed

Hi,

So that LAN IP addres range is publically routable (as in RIPE address right)?
Do you have an issue with building a private VLAN range (say 192.168.x.x) and mapping?

Otherwise you'd need to do something like this.
Build a private VLAN in that /26 range as you stated.

For each IP address you want to use in that range build a 1:1 NAT rule setting the public and private IP to be the same. NAT still happens here but if you have your client with that IP address then "whatsmyip" will show the correct public address, and inbound connections will be allowed to that device.

NoNat is only in Beta for MX15 right this moment so it may require workarounds like this for you to make private VLAN ranges publically routable on the MX

You'd have to do this rule entry for each IP address within that 26 range you wish to utilise. The 1:1 NAT rules are explicit IPs only.

1to1.JPG

This is very helpful.

Yes, the /26 is a public range, so I need a routable appliance without NAT.