MX64 (spoke) VPN to Non-Meraki (SonicWALL) Hub

SOLVED
DunJer622
Building a reputation

MX64 (spoke) VPN to Non-Meraki (SonicWALL) Hub

Greetings,

We're a SonicWALL shop that is looking to potentially move to Meraki.  I'm new to Meraki, so I am in the process of crash-course learning.  It is looking like we'll be swapping out our EOL TZ200 and TZ205 units with MX64 units.  That said, I'm in the early stages of R&D and PoC.  As we have an existing network, we're looking to gradually transition the implementation of the Meraki units.  So, onto my questions.  

Can I create a VPN with the MX64 to my SonicWALL NSA E5500 (network core router)?  The short answer is "yes", as I was able to use the Non-Meraki Peers section.  However, I had to setup the MX64 as the hub, as it would not let me assign it as a spoke (due to no hubs being identified in the organization).  Am I setting up this VPN correctly?  I'm concerned about adding the next MX64, as it will see the 1st MX64 as a hub.  Do I have to just keep setting up the MX64 units as hubs and then setup the non-Meraki Peer to the SonicWALL each time?  I could be doing 30+ locations this year.  Would it be more prudent to swap out the SonicWALL hub with an MX100 or MX400 first?  This would obviously interrupt my entire network greatly and lead to a repeat effort on the VPNs.  

With the VPN that I have created, I don't see how to setup failover for the actual VPN, should the SonicWALL hub's primary Internet fail.  With my SonicWALL endpoints, I can simply enter the primary and secondary IPs of the hub and the endpoints will automatically re-establish the VPN on the secondary IP, should the primary fail.  Can I do the same with Meraki?  Can I do it with an MX64 to a non-Meraki router (hub)?

I appreciate any assistance that anyone can provide.  I've scoured the online documentation without success.

Thank you,

Jeremy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal