DHCP Loop

SOLVED
NewToNetworking
Here to help

DHCP Loop

As my name indicates, I am pretty new to networking. I have an IP camera that suddenly lost its IP address and can only get one via DHCP. It went offline and started broadcasting Discover packets to get a new IP. From what I can see there are offers being sent to the camera but it is not requesting one of the two IPs that are being offered. Meraki is showing that on the port no offers are being received by the camera but when I do a packet capture on that specific port it shows that the offer is getting there. I did notice that on the offer packet it includes the IP address that is being offered as the destination and I do not think that is correct, but I could be wrong (ex. OFFER PACKET source: DHCP server IP / MAC , destination: DHCP offered IP / Camera MAC). DHCP relay is turned on and directed towards the DHCP Server. 

Note: Camera did work when plugged into another switch and gained a new IP dynamically for testing. 

Don't ask me why it is setup this way lol I am not the Architect or Engineer. 

Thank you for any help in advance. 

DHCP Issue.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
NewToNetworking
Here to help

I was trying to avoid rebooting anything but after rebooting the switch it was directly connected to it was able to grab the IP from the DHCP server. 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Ryan_Miles
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

So, does VLAN 30 exist/is allowed on the trunks all the way to the L3 switch? Then on that L3 switch is there a DHCP helper/relay to the IP of the DHCP server?

And when you say the camera worked on another switch. Which one? The switchport is configured exactly the same, the uplink is configured the same?