Clients showing incorrect public IP

DeweyL
Comes here often

Clients showing incorrect public IP

Hi, I'm fairly new to the meraki environment.

I have a very basic network setup for testing, 1 MX68, 1 24p MS210, and 1 MR33.  Have basic routing setup with addressing mode set to Routed with a single LAN configured.  Static IPs are all setup correctly.  We have not cofigured any VPN's or anything other than a basic network.

The issue that I'm having is no matter what settings I change and any number of appliance reboots, my public ip shows incorrect and always on a Paradise Network in either Los Angeles or Houston (we are in Colorado).

Is there a setting that I'm missing?

9 Replies 9
jdsilva
Kind of a big deal

What are you using to determine the location? 

What are you looking at to determine that your IP is incorrect?

DeweyL
Comes here often

Google "whats my ip".  We also use Azure AD/Intune with Conditional access (based on public IP).  When I attempt to connect to any O365 or Azure products the MFA server and risk assessment of my account go haywire due to the unrecognized IP addresses and the "impossible travel" that is taking place.

jdsilva
Kind of a big deal

I agree with @NolanHerring in that all the MX is going to do is DHCP an IP, and use whatever its given. The fact that you have Internet access at all would indicate that the DHCP between the MX and your ISP is working correctly. 

As for the IP itself, you can contact your ISP and ask them why the address you're receiving is listed as a different geographic region, but I suspect they'll tell you to go pound sand. As long as they're using their IP space they can use it however they like, and Internet services that attempt to locate you geographically are the responsibility of those service owners, not of your ISP.