AnyConnect RDP Only p

Charlie_C
Comes here often

AnyConnect RDP Only p

Hi, I'm very new to meraki so apologies if I've missed something obvious here.

I've setup Anyconnect VPN and it works exactly as expected.

I then want to create a profile to limit what certain users get once connected.

my starting point is to create a profile with just RDP allowed.

When i connect the client, they get the default profile applied which works, i then swap them to the RDP only profile and wait around 5 mins, at which point that also works, they can only RDP. no ping, no browsing - exactly as expected.

However after a random amount of time (up to an hour) the client goes "offline" from the meraki (no green icon) but the client still says "connected". At this point nothing at all works. but he can happily disconnect and reconnect. but nothing works. If i swap him back to the default profile after a few minutes he goes green again in the meraki and things work again. I then start the process again, move him to RDP only, it works after 5 mins or so, he RDPs to a machine, works away then drops, he goes to no green icon and cant do anything again.

Is there some missing secret communication between the VPN client and the meraki that i'm missing which i'm blocking once i apply RDP only to him?

Any help at all would be appreciated as i cant find any documentation stating that i need anything to allow the clients to talk to the meraki.

5 Replies 5
Jonathan-S
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Hi Charlie_C,

I think it would probably make most sense to reach out to our Meraki Support team in order to assist with this configuration and any possible troubleshooting that may be done here. If you haven't engaged our Meraki Support team before you can navigate to Help > Get help from the upper-right-hand corner of your Meraki Dashboard portal, followed by clicking on the "Still need help?" link, and choosing either to submit an email case or to call the Meraki Support team.

Thanks!