Python Variable based on port/interface being active or not

jimburt372
Conversationalist

Python Variable based on port/interface being active or not

I have a Python App I am trying to update with a little additional logic.  We are working with a large number of MS120 8 port switches.  Ports 9 & 10 are the uplinks.  My current code is hard coded for 1 uplink (port 9 at present) and then it performs a number of operations that work great, as long as Port 9 is connected and active.  I would like to add some logic to verify if port 9 is online, and THEN perform the operations, or else verify port 10 and proceed.  

I am very new to developing, but I have this app that was given to me, and I am trying to improve an already good app, and use it as a learning opportunity, but I am stumped. 

In my head, what I think I need, but don't know the proper way to achieve is something like this:

port_id = ("9" if portactive=true, else "10" if portactive=false)

I can not work out a test to validate if port 9 is active or not.

Anyone have suggestions, please? Thanks in advance.

5 REPLIES 5
RaphaelL
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Hi, 

Have you tried this endpoint : https://developer.cisco.com/meraki/api-v1/#!get-device-switch-ports-statuses ?

It will return you if the port is enabled and is active : 

"enabled": true, "status": "Connected",

Thanks for the reply.  I have looked at it, and "played" with it using the Meraki add-on for Google Sheets that a buddy told me about.