Python Script for Updating Vlans subnets on 1400+ networks

cionica1993
Here to help

Python Script for Updating Vlans subnets on 1400+ networks

Hello all,

First of all I'm a newbie in python and I've been trying to use the python wrappers from https://github.com/meraki/dashboard-api-python in order build a script to update 1400+ vlans. I've been failing since I started.

Can anyone help me with this ? At least provide some guidance.

I would also need to parse a .csv file in order to map the correct subnet to the NetworkID. 

9 REPLIES 9
boundless-digit
Getting noticed

Hi,

Can you paste your code and show where you are getting blocked?
Sidney Burks
Captive Portal and Meraki API Automation
Founder and CTO, Boundless Digital
sidney@boundless.fr
https://www.boundless.fr
RubenG
Getting noticed

Can you give us more information? What aspects are you trying to update or generate on the VLANs?

Are you changing your subnets and IP addressing, Migrating from a class A to a Class C network. etc, changing the VLAN, Generating new VLANs, more than one VLAN per Network or just one, etc.?

I would start by pulling all the network ID's, putting it in a CSV file. Then update the CSV file with the subnet that each NetworkID is getting.
After that, you can import to Python using the CSV to List module. Sort through all of them and push it out through the API calls.
You can then doublecheck your work by GETing the subnets after you updated them and comparing them to your master list.

Let me know if this helps.

My network is full of MX's. I'm just updating the default VLAN 1 subnet, I had to use a configuration template and a bulk network template. In the configuration template a assigned a /15 from which each network will be randomly assigned a /26 ( that's how the template works ). After that I deployed a bulk template with all the locations and applied the configuration template on them.