Python List Variables

SOLVED
KRobert
Head in the Cloud

Python List Variables

I am trying to create a VLAN on 40+ networks using python with the Meraki SDK.

I would like to turn the networkid variable into a list or dictionary and run the code for each parameter within the list. After the parameter in the list is completed, I'd like to have a message printed saying the vlan was added successfully to the network. I am having trouble though turning each parameter of the list into a variable. Has anyone tried to do this? 

Example:

Variables

networkid =['L_6464416461', 'L_1648946644']

createVLAN = meraki.addvlan(apikey, networkid, vlanid, name, subnet, mxip,surpressprint=False)

With one parameter in the networkid, the script works, but when I add two +, it fails. I am new to python and all around scripting so i'm sure it is a simple setup, but it is proving difficult. Any help would be great!

networkid = ['L_6464416461', 'L_1648946644']
for network in networkid:
if networkid == 'L_1648946644':
break

My output is the following:
HTTP Status Code: 404 - No returned data

HTTP Status Code: 404 - No returned data

Process finished with exit code 0
CMNO, CCNA R+S
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
BrechtSchamp
Kind of a big deal

If networkid is the name you've given to your list and you do meraki.addvlan(apikey, networkid, vlanid, name, subnet, mxip,surpressprint=False), then it's just failing because that call isn't meant to accept a list for networkid.

What you'd need to do is meraki.addvlan(apikey, network, vlanid, name, subnet, mxip,surpressprint=False) inside your loop.

What's the reason for the break? Also, that networkid == 'L_1648946644' will never evaluate to true. Did you mean to write network == 'L_1648946644'?

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
BrechtSchamp
Kind of a big deal