New to Meraki Automation and to DevOps, Any suggestions

IntrovertEngg
Getting noticed

New to Meraki Automation and to DevOps, Any suggestions

I am relatively new to network automation. I understand a little bit about programming. The manager assigned me the task of automating some operations for the Meraki dashboard. For example, make bulk changes to multiple networks within an organization such as VLAN creation, IP whitelisting, VPN exclusion rules, and so on. Those changes wont be limited for multiple networks but sometimes for multiple organizations as well. I've been assigned one Linux VM, and it appears that I'll need to use it as a launch pad for API jobs. I've tried browsing the API documentation and even running a couple of GET queries and was successful, but I don't have a thorough understanding of it, so I'm hesitant.

Where do I begin to learn this? On a high level, I'm thinking about using HTML as a frontend. Fields will appear based on the task selected from the dropdown; the user should enter a value in them and click the enter button, and the API should shoot. Is this too complicated and requires rocket science? Also, is there a way to change the way the result output is displayed? It currently appears in syntax format, but can I convert it to a tabular format with only specific information to be displayed ? For example If I run getOrganizationAdmins, I receive information like ID, name, e-mail, authenticationMethod, orgAccess,AccountStatus,twoFactor, lastactive, tags etc.. If I just want to receive limited info like ID, name, e-mail, OrgAccess then how it can be achieved? I believe that as I learn more, may be I will gain a better understanding of what works and what does not. 

But, if anyone has been through this and come out on top, do you have any advice for me? I'd request you to advise me on how to get started, what I should read, and any website/youtube video urls - any assistance in this regard would be greatly appreciated.  

7 Replies 7