Manage iOs Alerts

Dark_Knight
Here to help

Manage iOs Alerts

Hello All, 

I am fairly new to Meraki MDM and would like to know if there is a script I can use to check the status of the iPads. I have over 1000 iPads in one of my networks and need to be notified when devices go offline. Instead of being notified for each and every device going offline. Perhaps I can get a notification that 50% of the iPads went down.

I'm currently using the alerts found in SM-> Configure->Alerts and find it annoying to receive constant email updates when each device go offline/online. I need a more efficient and feasible way to check the iPads current state. Is this possible and has it been done before? 

10 Replies 10
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

I'm not aware of anything like that.  it is a bit of a special case.

Frequently in most MDM's (at least the ones I look after) a large number of clients are offline at a time.  They go to sleep.  They travel around going in and out of coverage.  Some might have 4G others might be WiFi only.

I can tell you in the beta version of Systems Manager there is now a top line counter showing the number of devices that have not checked in within 24 hours.  There is also a bar graph showing the check in frequency across everything (example below).

Screenshot from 2018-09-12 07-47-10.png

@Dark_Knight Yes reach out to support and ask to have the new beta home page. Its very useful and should be able to do what you are after. 

How likely is that to happen? I've called support today and they said the only way for Cisco to implement new changes to MDM I have to submit "Make a Wish." It is then up to the developers to decide to make it happen. Once they see requests for the same solution then they will start to develop.  @BlakeRichardson

Thanks @PhilipDAth. Can this graph be emailed periodically or must I sign in to view manually every time? 

There is no way to email the Overview screen.