How to update multiple networks with the same content filtering categories

JohnPaul
Getting noticed

How to update multiple networks with the same content filtering categories

IMPORTANT: THE CODE BELOW IS MESSED UP IF YOU COPY IT TO NOTEPAD AND TRY TO RUN IT BECAUSE OF THE WAY IT WAS FORMATTED ON THE FORUM. IF ANYONE KNOWS OF A GOOD WAY TO PASTE IN MY CODE PLEASE ADVISE.

First off, you should know that I'm not a programmer. I was stumbling most of the way when I created this simple bash script. I'm sure when you look at the script you will see some inefficiencies with the way I chose to do certain things. Believe me, I would love to make it better, but this is what I'm sharing with you. I don't take any responsibility for this code or my methodologies.

So this is the goal. Update multiple networks with the same content filtering blocked categories.

I accomplished this using a simple CSV file, writing a bash script using the Meraki-CLI, and iterating through each network in the CSV.

NOTE: When I first started this task, I was well aware that Python would be the superior choice, but I decided to try the Meraki-CLI

Step 1: https://meraki-cli.readthedocs.io/en/latest/step-by-step_installation/ this assumes you are using Windows like I am. Follow the step by step guide on installing Meraki-CLI.

Step 2: Launch Ubuntu on Windows. Enable Quick Edit Mode on your Ubuntu instance. This will make life easier when you are copying the output from WSL to your CSV file.

JohnPaul_0-1671747005272.png

Step 3: Make sure you have your Meraki dashboard API key. If you don't know what this is, there are plenty of youtube videos on how to find it. Follow this guide once you have it. Use the config file method - https://meraki-cli.readthedocs.io/en/latest/getting-your-api-key/

Step 4: Follow this guide to get your organization ID https://meraki-cli.readthedocs.io/en/latest/a-few-starting-commands/