Changin SSID in template using API not working

Solved
adde_x
Comes here often

Changin SSID in template using API not working

Hi

So I am new to scripting and trying to change the ssid name in a template but can't seem to get it to work at all.

Is it even possible?

Every time I get this error:

line 22, in <module>
ssids = dashboard.config_templates.getOrganizationConfigTemplateSsids(organization_id, template_id)
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
AttributeError: 'DashboardAPI' object has no attribute 'config_templates'

It's driving me nuts and I have to change more than 100 templates next week 😄

sooo...help me :)) please

BR

Adrian

1 Accepted Solution
sungod
Head in the Cloud

It does seem logical that it should allow updating a template network.

If the call does not fail because the network ID is a template, then it should report fail if it did not update the SSID.

But if it says it completed successfully, that is incorrect because the SSID was not changed, there is a contradiction here.

I had a look at overall documentation, but it doesn't say if a template network is treated the same as a network when making updates.

It won't get you out of our current situation, but you could open a support case to report that it doesn't work.

Either it's a bug or the documentation needs to clarify things, but it should not be necessary to guess!

View solution in original post

16 Replies 16
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

@adde_x,  the attribute looks incorrect. But to be honest, I think it will be faster to configure via dashboard than via script if you are not proficient.

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.

But I believe the correct attribute is configTemplates

https://developer.cisco.com/meraki/api/get-organization-config-templates/