cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Remove admin privileges without deleting the user

Comes here often

Remove admin privileges without deleting the user

We're currently using Meraki cloud for our VPN authentication, which means that all our VPN users are listed in "User management" for each network in our organization.

 

We also have a number of Organization admins with various levels of privileges. I discovered the hard way that if I remove all of an administrator's privileges, Meraki will prompt that the user account will be deleted as a result. After that action, the user's VPN credentials are no longer in the directory.

 

Is there a way to demote an account from an administrator to a standard "guest" account, so I don't have to recreate the account and reset the VPN password?

 

Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5
Head in the Cloud

Re: Remove admin privileges without deleting the user

I'm not aware of a way to demote an administrator account to a guest user without deleting it and re-adding.

Eliot F | Simplifying IT with Cloud Solutions
Found this helpful? Give me some Kudos! (click on the little up-arrow below)
Kind of a big deal

Re: Remove admin privileges without deleting the user

When adding users that only need VPN access you normally put them under:

Network Wide/Users

and not:

Organization/Administrators

Comes here often

Re: Remove admin privileges without deleting the user

Yes, we routinely do that.

 

But all our Admins are also VPN users (they're a subset of the Network Wide/Users). Meraki automatically deletes an admin account which has no privileges. Which removes the entry from the Network Wide/Users list.

 

I assume this is the same database, since when you view the users in the Network Wide/Users list, they're shown as "Administrators".

Kind of a big deal

Re: Remove admin privileges without deleting the user

How about creating a dummy network called "no-privileges", that contains nothing, and only giving them access to that?

Comes here often

Re: Remove admin privileges without deleting the user

That might work.
Mmmmm...
Welcome to the Meraki Community!
To start contributing, simply sign in with your Cisco account. If you don't yet have a Cisco account, you can sign up.