Learn more about your community peers in our member spotlight!

AmyReyes
Community Manager

meraki community member spotlight banner.png

It’s time for our June Member Spotlight!

For the month of June, we chose to recognize @Bandwiches . Since joining the Meraki Community earlier this year, Bandwiches has been an active participant in many of the community contests we’ve run. He has also engaged with many members here. We’ll dive into his background in depth with the questions below, but you can also check out his intro post in the Introduce Yourself board here for a quick read!

Congratulations!

Bandwiches.png

Tell us a little bit about your background.

I’ve been in IT for over 10 years, I somehow stumbled into networking on day one, and I’ve been here ever since. I worked in the education sector for about 3 to 4 years while I finished up my bachelor’s, and this is all networking. I was network admin. Then I ended up moving to Kansas City and started working for Cerner, which is a big health medical record company. I did a whole bunch of networking there, connecting hospitals to our data centers and all that great stuff. I did a lot of project work in automation when that was first starting. I think this would have been about the time with DevOps and SRE stuff. Now it’s huge, but back then it wasn’t so big. After that, I think I worked there for about 5 or 6 years, then I left there and I worked for an insurance company. So I have been in education, insurance, medical, all of it. When I was working at Cerner I had some secret access with government contracts and stuff like that, so I’ve had a lot of experience I guess. 

What do you like most about networking and why did you end up staying with it?