Single SSID implementation on a multi floor building - default VLAN challenge

zman
New here

Single SSID implementation on a multi floor building - default VLAN challenge

I have a multi floor building and want to implement a single SSID across all floors. Each floor will have about 10 APs. The building's network has been designed to route from the access layer. Meaning there is a L3 boundary between the access layer and the core. Put another way, the uplinks from the access layer to the core are not trunks, but L3 etherchannels. Every floor has a different set of VLANs per the design.

I understand how to set up tagging for the user VLANs, but how do I set a different default VLAN for every floor on a single SSID?

Thanks

zman

14 Replies 14
kYutobi
Kind of a big deal

I am new to Meraki, but what I am asking for is different default or untagged VLAN per floor on a single SSID. Not multiple data (user) VLANs for a single SSID. I don't see a way to configure multiple default VLANs on a single SSID.

Thanks for your response though.

zman

Configure tags for your APs. Example, add a tag name of floor_1, floor_2, etc tag to the APs based on their respective location. Tags can be whatever name you want to use.

Then on the SSID configure it for Bridged mode and in the VLAN tagging section configure tag to VLAN mappings. That is how you can define the users VLAN per AP/floor.

Screenshot 2023-11-13 at 10.42.26 AM.png

Ryan,

In your example the Default VLAN is 70. How do I configure multiple Default VLANs? Each floor in my design will have a different Default VLAN.

Thanks

zman

That line is the default for any AP not using a tag.

If you only need a single VLAN for the SSID you could honestly just leave the VLAN tagging disabled and then the SSID would be mapped to whatever VLAN is the native on the switchport connected to the AP.