COA messages troubleshooting

Alexs20
Getting noticed

COA messages troubleshooting

Hi everybody

I have a question about CoA messages.

I am following this document:

https://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/ios-xml/ios/san/configuration/15-e/san-coa-supp.html

And my question is about how can I troubleshoot the reason for not answering to CoA messages?

For example, when I am targeting session that does not exist already, instead of return NAK the access point just keep silence, and on my side i have zero knowledge about what went wrong, it because of time drift? or maybe network problem? or i am sending bad message.

The Log/Events section in Meraki Cloud is also keep full silence about what is going on and why AP is not answering.

How can I troubleshoot such cases and force the AP to respond? Is it possible to just send a test Coa to AP just to make sure that at least no problems in the network? Any PONG-PONG coa message? Anything?

Thanks.

10 Replies 10
RaphaelL
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Are you sure that the CoA is reaching your APs ? Can you see it with a LAN packet capture ?

Yes. When I am targeting a real session then I am getting the AK message back.

alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

What exactly do you want to solve, can you give more details about your scenario? Authentication type for example.

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.

I am trying to find a way to test that my messages are reaching the AP without using any session for that.

Imagine I have a site with 100 APs installed. And I want to send "TEST" COA to all of them and see if I get response from all of them - just to make sure that there is no issues with passing UDP traffic from my service to all APs.

alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Maybe it can help a little.