Location Analytics Questions: Filtering Non-Associated Employees and/or Neighboring Business Staff

SOLVED
RussB
Conversationalist

Location Analytics Questions: Filtering Non-Associated Employees and/or Neighboring Business Staff

I am new to the Meraki line of products and still learning about the Location Analytics as they relate to a the MR33 WAP we have - one per store location.

My main concern is that we have "noise" that I do not want included in location analytics. I am not sure if there is a way to "hide" it as opposed to just averaging it out over time.

For the record, our business (Shoe Retail) rarely has daily or weekly recurring customers/visitors that come in the store.

The noise I am referring to would be:

1. Employees who have wireless devices regularly in our stores but do not connect/associate with our APs
  2. Employees/Staff of neighboring businesses (side-by-side or even below us in once case) that are at their own places of business most days. The argument could be made that these people are still potential customers. I am ok with that, but it would be nice to be able to filter them out.
    • I could probably reduce some of this noise by adjusting the radio/power settings for the AP, but this wouldn't be perfect and would likely sacrifice some performance on authorized, connected clients.

Ideally, I would want either:

• Instructions on how to filter out all clients (by activity/status) that are essentially daily, non-associated clients
  • OR an explanation of how to exclude certain devices/MACs from analytics in a more manual fashion. This would be less dynamic, but my guess is that there may only be a dozen or two clients that are creating this noise at each location.

Thanks in advance if you made it this far. Any help or guidance (walk-thrus) would be very appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Hans
Meraki Alumni (Retired)
Meraki Alumni (Retired)

Hi Russ,