Configuration Help with Cisco MS250-24P

RoudyFocx
New here

Configuration Help with Cisco MS250-24P

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to networking and have been tasked with configuring a cisco switch. Our set up is simple, we have 4 devices that need to get out to the internet. We have a comcast EDI line with an L2 cienna switch provided by comcast. 

Here are the details provided by comcast: 

Customer Usable IP Information

(WAN Block) >>>>>> LAN Block >>>

Link IP Address:

50.x.x.184/29

Usable IP Block:

50.x.x.192/28

Gateway:

50.x.x.185

Usable IP Ranges:

50.x.x.193-50.x.x.206

Layer 3 IP:

50.x.x.186

Usable Subnet Mask:

Layer 3 Subnet Mask:

Usable IPv6 Block:

N/A

When I go to enter the  L3 information from the meraki dashboard I run into this error: 

RoudyFocx_0-1713970912773.png

How do I get this to access the internet? 

3 Replies 3
GIdenJoe
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Hey,

From the not redacted parts I can make out you made a small error in the Subnet part.  The subnet is 50.x.x.184/29 not 50.x.x.0/29.  Meraki is holding your hand here and rightfully complaning that 50.x.x.185 is not within the same subnet as 50.x.x.0/29 which would only encompass 50.x.x.0 through 50.x.x.7 instead of  what you need: 50.x.x.184 through 50.x.x.191.

So your interface IP of 50.x.x.193 will also not work since that is in the next subnet.

So this setup, is this like a private WAN setup where you only get one routed subnet and that internet NAT is happening upstream?

Best of luck!

Hello,

Thanks for your response, I have since entered .184/29 and was able to create my interface and static route. Now my issue is that i get the message "Has never connected to the Meraki cloud".