determine the last time a non-Meraki VPN peer was successfully used?

cabricharme
Getting noticed

determine the last time a non-Meraki VPN peer was successfully used?

What logs / events should I look at it, to determine the last time a non-Meraki VPN peer was successfully used?

(Please walk me through this as I am new to Meraki, and don't have a lot of experience with it or site-to-site VPNs.)

Context:

• there is one non-Meraki peer in our site-to-site VPN setup, along with a number of Meraki peers.
  • that non-Meraki peer is showing red (down), likely due to our attempts to troubleshoot poor VPN and internet connectivity and change a few things.
  • On the "VPN Status" page, there's no indication (at least as far I can tell) of when it went down, or when it was last up
  • We're trying to track down which change brought that non-Meraki VPN peer down, and having the timestamp of the last successful connection would be very helpful
  • The appliance is MX100 on our side

cabricharme_0-1717451750633.png

Thank you!

3 Replies 3
cabricharme
Getting noticed

We just tried switching the primary uplink back to the secondary WAN (WAN 2) - and the peer came up.

(We changed the primary uplink to WAN 1 from WAN 2 last week trying to stabilize our site-to-site VPN which was frequently going down. I didn't help - but didn't seem to make things worse other than today's discovery of the VPN peer being down.)

Guess the peer is somehow hard-wired to a specific uplink being the primary one? (Traffic is load balanced between uplinks, VPN "active-active" status doesn't seem to matter, nor does "immediate" vs. "graceful" failover.

Is there a way to configure it to work regardless of which uplink is primary?

P.S. The original question still stands though, how to track down the time a VPN peer went down or was last successfully used.

rhbirkelund
Kind of a big deal