VoIP and IP Security Cameras: VLANs /Subnets

MrBear
Here to help

VoIP and IP Security Cameras: VLANs /Subnets

Good evening,

I am so amazed by the level of help I’ve received from this community; thank you.

I am going to, again, ask for your suggestions on a few things but first, I think I should mention that my Meraki system is installed in my home, not a business (in case it helps with your response to my questions).

About me – I am mildly techie but I am not an IT professional like you all and Meraki is my first real network; so much of what I have read in the forums is over my head, so please keep that in mind too 😉

My Meraki system was installed on June 15th and other than a couple of remaining gremlins (mostly Crestron related), everything is working with everything on one subnet (192.168.1.x) and no VLANs. We decided to go this route to simply just get everything working, and then we would look at things like subnets, VLANS, etc.

So now I am ready to begin looking at best practices for security, ease of use & performance and at the same time I do like the KISS principal & I don’t want to needlessly make things overly complex if they don’t need to be.

Here’s my hardware overview:

Internet = (1) 450 Mbps service from Charter Spectrum

Router = (1) Meraki MX100 with the Advanced license

Switch = (2) Meraki MS350-48, stacked with 40G cable

Switch = (2) Meraki MS350-24

Switch = (2) Meraki MS120-8

AP = (10) Meraki MR46 (wifi-6)

AP = (2) Meraki MR76 (wifi-6)

Cameras = (3) Meraki IP cameras being tested now for consideration*

Cameras = (12) Axis IP cameras in use

Sec Storage = (1) QNAP NAS (65TB usable RAID-10) + QVR Pro Security Software

Music Streamers = (23) Linn DSM network music streamers

VoIP = (12) VoIP phones (make/model TBD)

Usage = Typical family of 5-6 usage (just a larger than normal house) and the only things that are not typical are:

1. the number of security cameras running 24x7
  2. the number of music streamers
  3. VoIP phones