Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Teleworker template - unique addressing for each site

Highlighted
Here to help

Teleworker template - unique addressing for each site

Hi Everyone,

Tl;DR: how do i create a template for all Meraki Z1's in my organization that allows me to assign a specific /24 per device in the template?

I'm brand new to Meraki, and I'm trying to create a template that will allow me to use unique addressing for each teleworker gateway for identification purposes.  Each Z1 will be a spoke connecting to my MX64 as a hub.  I will have about 40 remote sites, and I would like to identify all sites with their own /24 within a /16, for example 10.111.0.0/16 would be any Meraki device, and 10.111.1.0/24 would be teleworker#1's house.  If I discover a device on the network that is 10.111.1.23 for example, i know that this is device is at teleworker#1's network.

I'm having a problem however with creating the template.  All devices in a template share the same local VLAN template.  I don't understand how this will work, as I'm assigning the Appliance IP in the dialogue, so wouldn't every device bound to the template have an IP conflict?

3 REPLIES 3
Kind of a big deal

Re: Teleworker template - unique addressing for each site

You may be able to override the template IP addressing on the specific network. Try creating a test MX network and applying your template to it. See if you are able to change the IP scope on the Addressing & VLAN's page. Templates allow you to override certain things locally, but I'm not familiar enough with MX templates to know what they allow or don't allow. 

MRCUR | CMNO #12
Meraki Employee

Hi @PentagonSystems,

Here you can find more information about how templates work and setup unique subnets for each network > https://documentation.meraki.com/zGeneral_Administration/Templates_and_Config_Sync/Managing_Multiple...

Meraki Employee