Rebooting MX95 Triggers BPDU Guard

SOLVED
Zac123
Here to help

Rebooting MX95 Triggers BPDU Guard

I have a very strange scenario, and I am curious if anyone has experienced this or has some insight.

I deployed two MX95's in warm spare.  There are no other Meraki appliances (MS or otherwise) in this network.  They're connected to a Nexus switch, but on separate fabric extenders.  This is my first time connecting gear to a Nexus switch.  Each MX95 has a connected WAN (Internet 1) and LAN (LAN 9 using 10g SFP+ fibre module) port to the Nexus switch.  The WAN ports are on their own VLAN, and the LAN connections are trunks.  The LAN trunks are currently allowing only one tagged VLAN.

When I reboot either MX95 the LAN port on the Nexus switch goes in to a BPDUGuard errdisable state.

This is really confusing to me because I know that the MX appliances do not participate in STP, but they will forward BPDUs.  There aren't any links other than the two in each MX95 (one WAN and one LAN in each MX).  If there was a loop then I would expect BPDU Guard to trigger right away instead of when an MX is rebooted.  Doing a shut/no shut on the Nexus switches affected port fixes the issue until the MX is rebooted.

I contacted Meraki support and they don't see any issues with the MX95's.  He checked logs in the appliance before and after I reproduced the issue.  Any thoughts?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Zac123
Here to help

I have an update on the issue.  We moved the devices (WAN and LAN ports) off the fabric extenders and on to the switches that the extenders connect to, and now the issue isn't happening anymore.  I can reboot either MX without the connected switchport going in to errdisable state.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Ryan_Miles
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee