Multicast

Uberseehandel
Kind of a big deal

Multicast

I use my home network as a lab for network issues.
I am based in the UK. I do a lot of media work.Consequently, I have a BT Sport subscription with the 4K Ultra HD option.
Whilst I can handle unicast 4K TV without issues, BT TV uses multicast for the premium sports channels, which the MX does not pass correctly.
I have tested exhaustively. The diagram shows the different configurations. I'd post the diagram, but this system doesn't want to let me.
I am told by a support engineer that the MX does not handle this kind of multicast (duh). So far Meraki and Juniper (SRX300), have failed miserably.
I have a number of options including:
Talking to Meraki Systems Engineer Dimitrie Sandu. Before he joined Meraki, Dimitrie was Lead Infrastructure Solution Designer (TV Connect), and I quote from his linked in page
The speedy delivery of the Dynamic Multicast design, which changes the default 'broadcast'​ network behaviour into an 'on-demand' one, as related to which TV channels are sent downstream, enabling a major cost saving in the access space;
So he ought to understand what needs to be done.
Buying a router that is known to pass BT TV multicast correctly and connecting the BT playout device directly to it and uplinking the MX to the third party router, rather than directly to Vigor 130 modem configured to pass through BT multicast correctly. Which leaves me with double NAT issues
Looking for another security device
I'd really like to be able to connect directly to Dimitrie.
All assistance greatly welcome

Robin St.Clair | Principal, Caithness Analytics | @uberseehandel
11 REPLIES 11
Uberseehandel
Kind of a big deal

rtpfailure.png

It appears that Chrome was having a wobble - Firefox let me upload the file.

SSMSolution.jpgAs the MX devices are currently configured, they do not handle Source Specific Multicast correctly, and there is no solution, as far as Meraki is concerned.