Meraki SD WAN

BigK
Here to help

Meraki SD WAN

Hello, 

I am new to Meraki SD WAN and need some help from design perspective. 

In the DC. I have a MX450 connected to a cisco switch which is connected to a router and out to the internet.

Now I do have a couple of branches that will be using MX68CW.

The goal is to have the 2 branches use SD WAN technology using MX450 in the data center and MX68CW in the branches. 

Here is what I know so far by picking at one of the branches and DC config. 

1. MX68CW to MX450 is site to site VPN. 
  2. VLANs are configured on MX68CW with their subnets.
  3. MX450 Addressing & VLANs = Deployment Settings is Passthrough or VPN Concentrator
  4. Site to site VPN on the MX450 --> is Hub (Mesh)
  5. Port 1 on the MX450 is connected to internet. 
  6. Client tracking is = Ip address

any help with the design perspective will appreciate it.

Thanks

2 Replies 2
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

I think you have to start with this document:

https://documentation.meraki.com/Architectures_and_Best_Practices/Cisco_Meraki_Best_Practice_Design/...

https://documentation.meraki.com/Architectures_and_Best_Practices/Recommended_Topologies

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.
rhbirkelund
Kind of a big deal

Regarding the hub there are a few considerations you may have. You can configure it either as VPN Concentrator or in Routed mode and locate it inside you DC somewhere, or you can configure it in Routed mode, and place it as an Edge firewall. Both will work in terms of the Meraki SD-WAN.

Routed mode, Edge Firewall