MX bandwidth usage

Solved
SnowyHill
Conversationalist

MX bandwidth usage

Hi everyone,

Our net admin left and I've been put in charge of monitoring our network.  (Note I am not even really in IT so please bear with me.)

I have zero experience in Meraki and I've searched all over for some solid answers to this question but I can't seem to find an answer that I understand, so I'm hoping someone can help.

One of our remote sites has a 100/10 Mbps circuit.  I'm simply trying to figure out how to tell how much of this circuit we are using via the Dashboard.

I know I can go to Security & SD-WAN, Appliance Status, and choose the Uplink tab and I can see the live traffic from WAN1 and 2.  (We are only using WAN1.)

In looking at the graph, I see the traffic in real time but I don't know how to really read this graph.  The left hand side of the graph shows "0Mb/s" at the bottom, and goes up to ".3Mb/s", ".6Mb/s", ".9Mb/s" and the very top shows "1.2Mb/s."

Let's say the graph shows a spike to the top of the graph at 1.2Mb/s.  What does this mean in relation to our 100/10 circuit?  Does this mean we are literally utilizing only 1% of our circuit at the time of that spike?

Other times, I'll look at the graph and it changes on the left hand side to read (again, from the bottom), "0Kb/s", "200Kb/s", 400Kb/s", "600Kb/s", and "800Kb/s" at the top.

Why is this changing from Mb/s to Kb/s sometimes?  Is this changing based on the amount of traffic (low or high amount of traffic) on a real time basis?  So when it changes to Kb/s and I see a spike to, say, "800Kb/s", that means we are utilizing even LESS than the spike I mention above that's measured in Mb/s? (So, not even 1% of the 100Mbps circuit.)

I'm just trying to figure out how much of our pipe we are using on a daily/weekly/monthly basis.  10%, 25%, 50%, etc.