MX H&S Design Best Practice

SOLVED
rahmad
Here to help

MX H&S Design Best Practice

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new with Meraki and have question regarding design best practice.

Here is simple diagram for my deployment plan.

rahmad_1-1582375677666.png

Pair of MX 250 will be hub and deployed in routed mode with public IP.

There will be +- 200 branch, all with same overlapping subnet user. My plan is to translate those subnet to something summarizable (10.0.1.0/24,10.0.2.0/24....) and from core perspective i will just add static route with branch summary address pointing to the MX.

My questions is :

1. With diagram above, is it fine to deploy vpn concentrator on routed mode ? since i have read the documentation best practice to use passthrough mode for vpn concentrator and i'm still not clear what is the downside for using routed mode

2. Do i need to use virtual IP in MX 250 HA pair ? what is the downside of using same uplink IP ?

Any recommendation is appreciated, thank you.

Regards,

Rahmad

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

>1. With diagram above, is it fine to deploy vpn concentrator on routed mode ?

Yes.  I most frequently use this deployment method because it means I can use dual WAN circuits at the head end for failover.  Typically I get a cheap domestic grade Internet circuit to plug the second WAN2 ports in.  It's cheap insurance.  It also allows you to configure SD-WAN at the DC end.  Sometimes you would prefer to have bulk traffic use the cheap domestic circuit and save your primary circuit for traffic that you care about.

>2. Do i need to use virtual IP in MX 250 HA pair ? what is the downside of using same uplink IP ?

No.  When only doing AutoVPN I mostly don't.  If the primary MX fails all the spokes will automatically rebuild to the spare.