How to turn MS120 into WAN breakout for 2 ISPs and 2 MX250s in HA?

SOLVED
CaseyFowler
Conversationalist

How to turn MS120 into WAN breakout for 2 ISPs and 2 MX250s in HA?

I'm far from a network engineer but have been tasked with transitioning our SPOF config into a HA.

Our MSP recommended we get a unmanaged L2 switch to sit between each ISP's router at our edge. They recommended we order a Cisco Cat 1000, but they are on backorder for 6 months

I've seen many state that an MS120 can be configured to support this(which we have many spares of), but I can't find specifically what the config looks like. I asked the question elsewhere and got this recommendation:

Set a vlan ID for each ISP(999/998) and just tag 3 ports per ISP. This will create the path the broadcasts can talk over and you don't need to buy anything new.

• ISP1>Switch(VLAN999)>MX(01&02) internet 1 ports.
  • ISPb>Switch(VLAN998)>MX(01&02) internet 2 ports

I'm working my way through what each port should look like and I'm realizing I'm a bit out of my depth. Wold the MS120 not doing VRRP cause an issue here?

Here's an image of the layout, and what I'm assuming port 1 will look like for each breakout.

If this is correct, would the same port config be used for ports 2&3? What about port 4? I'm assuming if 1-3 are correct, then the only difference with port 4 is adding 999, 998 to the VLAN.

CaseyFowler_3-1677514496985.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Ryan_Miles
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

15 REPLIES 15
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Check the recommended topologies:  https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Deployment_Guides/MX_Warm_Spare_-_High_Availability_Pair#Recomme...

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.
rhbirkelund
Kind of a big deal