How do Static Route DHCP Assign IP Address to Vlan Client in the MX and MS Layer 3 Topology

Solved
Marlon
Here to help

How do Static Route DHCP Assign IP Address to Vlan Client in the MX and MS Layer 3 Topology

Hi All,

I am new to my company's Meraki Network and I want to figure it out how it works.

My company Network is using this Topology in the article below

https://documentation.meraki.com/Architectures_and_Best_Practices/Recommended_Topologies/MX_and_MS_B...

The Layer 3 Switch is using HP 3800 and all the Vlans created on it. All the Static Routes are created on MX Appliance and each Route is setup with a DHCP Server to provide DHCP services to the clients. 

You can see between MX and Layer 3 Switch it is using an Access link, on Meraki Port is Access Port only Allow Native Vlan in this case is Vlan 50. 

1. What I don't understand how DHCP Server give IP to downstream clients when MX is using Access Mode to connect Layer 3 Switch not using Truck Mode? should the Link to Trunk?

2. For example, a new client A in Vlan 1 want to get a IP from DHCP Servers of Static Route 1, Layer 3 Switch will forward the DHCP request to MX, but how MX decide which DHCP server to assign IP to Vlan 1? 

3. I tried to create a new Vlan 3 on Layer 3 MX Switch with all the exact same setting as other Vlans, but somehow the client on the new Vlan 3 couldn't get an IP address from DHCP server, I am wondering where it is wrong. 

Any suggestions or any useful articles please share with me, Thanks first.  

Marlon_0-1693954093758.png

Marlon_1-1693956078063.png

1 Accepted Solution
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

You should have to configure the DHCP Relay in you L3 switch.

Read the documentation about DHCP Relay.

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/DHCP/Configuring_DHCP_Relay

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.