Finding inbound traffic and creating rules to allow

Geri0n
Here to help

Finding inbound traffic and creating rules to allow

Hey Meraki Community,

Let me preface by saying that i very inexperienced in this topic, but i would love some input and assistance.

Currently, we are blocking nearly all Layer 7 firewall rules. However we are currently needing to allow a site to download files to our main station to allow it to upload data. We are a restaurant that is trying to make changes with a cloud based software that connects to our in store POS.

So my question is this:

Is there a way to find the attempted traffic that is being blocked by our MX64 and add a layer 7 (or 3) rule that will allow this port or IP to be able to correctly download and upload the data?

I have attempted to run parse logs for traffic, but being inexperienced makes it really complicated to try to read and understand these logs. If they are even giving me the info i need.

I am still learning the tools with the MX software, so any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

8 REPLIES 8
gauravgupta
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Hi there,

Please keep in mind that global Layer3 and Layer7 firewall tables on MX run independently. If traffic is allowed through one feature but denied on another, the traffic will still be denied. With that being said, even if you figure out what IP, port, and protocol POS system is using to communicate with cloud server, there is no way to make it work because even if we explicitly allow that traffic under Layer 3, it is still entitled to get blocked under Layer 7 rules.

I will recommend manually whitelisting POS devices from clients list if POS systems are configured to communicate only with that cloud server. I can also help you in determining which IP MX is blocking when POS tries to communicate with cloud server, so let me know if you would like to know how to do that.

Best Regards,

Gaurav Gupta

Thank you for your reply guaravgupta,