Delay in event log messages

rhbirkelund
Kind of a big deal

Delay in event log messages

Is there a 20 minute delay in event logs?

At 13:54, the log entry at 13:30 appeared. Even after refresh, as well as clicking Network Wide -> Event log, several times in between.

mfc-log-delay.PNG

LinkedIn ::: https://blog.rhbirkelund.dk/

Like what you see? - Give a Kudo ## Did it answer your question? - Mark it as a Solution 🙂

All code examples are provided as is. Responsibility for Code execution lies solely your own.
8 REPLIES 8
natuan
Here to help

maybe there are no event logs on the MX during that time.
e.g: at 12:50 you only see the log at 12:30
rhbirkelund
Kind of a big deal

I checked in on the Event log at 14:06 and nothing. Shortly thereafter;

mfc-log-delay2.PNG

Like what you see? - Give a Kudo ## Did it answer your question? - Mark it as a Solution 🙂

All code examples are provided as is. Responsibility for Code execution lies solely your own.

I'm not good at math but

- at 13:54 you cannot see the log of 14:00

- at 14:06 you can see the log of 14:00

it's natural.

If you have another network, you can check the delay

rhbirkelund
Kind of a big deal

@natuan wrote:

I'm not good at math but

- at 13:54 you cannot see the log of 14:00

- at 14:06 you can see the log of 14:00

it's natural.

If you have another network, you can check the delay

No. I could not see the log entry at 13:30, untill 13:54. 

The entry at 14:00, did not appear until at 14:07.

Another thing I'm curioust about is that I have difficulty in believing that I'm getting the same two "Source IP and/or VLAN mismatch" events every 30 minutes, precisely on the second, for the last month. 

Has anyone gotten an answer to this?  My meraki logs show about a 10 minute delay.

WillN
Getting noticed

There seems to be a fair amount of alarm suppression happening (event log presentation)

Noticed that something like blocked malware is about an hour lead time until it shows in logs and sends alerts.