Allen-Bradley PLC's not available over Client VPN

GraphiteJess
New here

Allen-Bradley PLC's not available over Client VPN

Hello all, 

I'm a technician for an MSP provider, and we recently inherited a client with all Meraki gear. Their former MSP handed over control of the network, and by and large, it has been bulletproof. However, the client's industrial automation guy installed some new PLC's for their microwave controllers, and we're unable to work with them over the VPN. When you're on the default VLAN, in the building, there are no issues. As soon as you use a remote connection and are connected via the VPN, nothing. No web interfaces, lost pings, etc. I've even gone as far as opening up huge holes in the firewall. 

I've just settled in to review Cisco's CIP information, but this all seems relegated to their switches, rather than any Meraki gear, so I worry that these devices aren't ever going to work correctly on the network. 

I would appreciate any info about Meraki and Common Industrial Protocol, or Allen-Bradley/Rockweel PLC's in particular. Given my google results on these items, it feels like a long shot. 

27 REPLIES 27
Nash
Kind of a big deal

You're on a different subnet when you're connected in via the client VPN.

Is that subnet allowed to talk to your PLCs?

Do your PLCs have an actual gateway set on them?

It is. I have no problems hitting the rest of the resources on the default VLAN. The gateway on the PLC is set to the IP of the MX on the Default VLAN. I've expressly permitted all traffic between the VLANS via the Firewall interface, but I can't set static routes on either, as it appears to not be an option; the MX complains about overlap. 

SoCalRacer
Kind of a big deal

When connected to the client VPN can you ping the MX and other devices on the default VLAN?

Yes. In desperation I connected to a local printer and sent a help note over the VPN; printed no problem.