New to Meraki-Go - So far not impressed

mbaker33
Here to help

New to Meraki-Go - So far not impressed

Hey all, 

I just installed a new Merak-Go setup last Sunday and have had nothing but issues with it so far.  I am a Network Engineer, with a lot of experience in setting this type of stuff up.  I was hoping for an experience closer to standard Meraki, but there is literally almost no configuration that can be adjusted on these devices.  The lack of any real configuration is a bit disappointing.  I'm hoping I am just missing something obvious here and someone can direct me to something I am not aware of other than the App on my phone and my.meraki.com.

The bigger issue for me is I can't seem to push more than 150 Mbps through the GX20.  When I hook up my Spectrum provided router, I get 500 Mbps pretty consistently as long as my bandwidth-hogging kids aren't home.  With the GX20, it is consistently 150-170 Mbps and I occasionally get up to 220 Mbps.  I work from home, and the kids are remote learning during the pandemic so every bit of that 500 Mbps is incredibly valuable.  Is anyone else having this issue as well?  I read that they were 1 Gbps ports, so I'm not sure where the hang-up is here.

I want to love these devices.  I have been a HUGE fan of Cisco and Meraki for a very long time.  I was sold on a Ubiquiti setup, and then found the Meraki-Go and decided to change it up.  Currently, I am regretting that decision, but I am hoping I can turn that around.

Thanks,

Mark

16 REPLIES 16
Roska
A model citizen