Meraki test Lab suggestions

SOLVED
Zak
Here to help

Meraki test Lab suggestions

Hello Good folks,

I am very new to Meraki equipment and have worked with HP and Ubiquiti before (Successfully manged to stay away from relatively complex networking setups up until now). I was just wondering what type of test lab environment folks here have setup to test configurations before pushing them out to production?

Or do you just go direct to production? Or is there a software ( I googled and found packet tracer for cisco) that I am not aware of?

Whats the minimum recommended gear/model that can be used to test most of the Meraki features?

Our production environment will roughly have:

1 x MX100 or MX250

50 x MR45 or MR 55

30 x MS125

Some of the features we will use:

Content filtering, RADIUS authentication, Windows DHCP, port scheduling, VPN, traffic shaping etc.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Nash
Kind of a big deal

I have been told by Meraki SE and evangelists that the MX is not intended to be used as a primary routing device, especially not in an environment with a lot of traffic. Most recently during ECMS2, so... I trust them.

You've got 4-5 buildings in a campus arrangement, it sounds like? Is that correct? What's your planned architecture? One FW with ISP uplink(s), with all buildings' WAN traffic flowing through it?

How many client devices does that represent? Because if you're pushing 400, I'd absolutely get the MX250 for your firewall. Review the sizing guide, especially page 5.

If the campus situation is correct, I'd buy some L3 switches right now. Later may not happen. It's also much more complicated to move all your routing once everything is "settled". If you're already doing new equipment installs, it's easier imho.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
NolanHerring
Kind of a big deal

Minimum you should need

MX64
One of the MR45 or MR55 since you want to exact same model AP. AP models are more finicky than anything else