Mobile L2TP VPN tunnel

SOLVED
JJ_7777
Conversationalist

Mobile L2TP VPN tunnel

Hi all,

Complete newb to Meraki and VPN, sorry if this has been asked or a silly question.

Sometime ago iOS stopped supporting SHA1 authentication on LT2P client VPN connections.  I need to use my iPhone to connect to provide basic remote support on the go with my phone.

We have a MX device running site to site in hub formation.  The IKE setup on non-peer meraki is set for SHA256 for encryption but SHA1 for authentication.  If we change authentication to SHA256, will this affect any of the existing site to site VPN connections?  Does anything need to be changed at our DC because of this change?

Do you need any other info?  Am I missing anything else here to make this clear?  

Thank you for your help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

One more consideration, this is the standard for L2TP, so there's nothing that can be changed on Meraki's side.

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Site to site VPN configuration has nothing to do with VPN Client configuration.

They are totally different things.

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Thanks but I don’t see IPSec settings in the client VPN.  Where do I find this setting?  Could you elaborate or provide a link for what I need?

alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Unfortunately it's not possible change this configuration.