HikVision NVR on Meraki Network

michaelpatton
Here to help

HikVision NVR on Meraki Network

Hello all. Relatively new to the community, but it's been very helpful in the past with my networking questions. I'm also not sure if this is in the right section of the forums (if not, please advise how to move). I am a generalist IT Manager of a team of just me at my employer. We recently had a third party vendor (a large, regional security company) install a new security camera system for us using a HikVision NVR and HikVision cameras. I set up TCP and UDP port forwarding in our MX84 firewall to allow external access, which works. However, the video feeds are incredibly slow and frequently freeze altogether. Everything looks like it is set up properly, as far as I can tell. The port the NVR is plugged into on one of our MS210-48FPs reports gigabit auto negotiate. We've tried a new CAT 5 cable and a different NVR, and the performance issues remain. Does anyone have any experience with an issue like this, or tips for something to try to alleviate the performance issues from the network side? We've also got an MS250-48FP Layer 3 switch in between the Firewall and the Routers. If there is any other information about our network that would be helpful for this troubleshooting, please ask.

Thank you!

6 Replies 6
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Hi @michaelpatton,

The Global bandwidth limits are configured? The NVR and Cameras are communicating on the Local network or are you using the port forwarding to communicate cameras with the NVR? It's not clear to me.

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.

I'm not sure about any global bandwidth limits. Can you point me towards where I would find that in the dashboard?