New to the API and Postman am I missing something?

Caleb_Murphy
Comes here often

New to the API and Postman am I missing something?

Hey everyone,

Apologies in advance if this is a trivial or dumb question. I am very new to API's and postman. I have followed the Meraki docs and I still get a request timed out when I try to send and API call to get my orginization ID. I have imported the collection, and created the environment. I have my api key as a variable and the baseUrl and a variable https://api.meraki.com/api/v1 when I then go to the collection I don't see the get request that that the docs say to send (Get List the organizations) there is only Get List organizations that user has privileges on or Get Return an organization. Both requests time out. I have scrapped and reset this up a few times now and I am fairly confident I am doing this correctly thus far. I have full admin rights to my Org so thats not an issue. I have double checked the key is copying into the vairable values correctly. I do wonder if I should be using that URL (from the docs) as the base URL or would their be a specific URL to use for my org since I am not doing this with a sandbox? Any help would be appreciated I can certainly elaborate on my steps if someone thinks I may have missed something.

Thanks everyone

Caleb

20 Replies 20
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

You can also test It on Meraki Developer Hub:

https://developer.cisco.com/meraki/api-latest/#!get-organizations

Just set your API key

alemabrahao_2-1666985420072.png

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.

Thanks That worked in the Dev hub. I have the ID. I do wish I knew what was going on in Postman, but oh well I can tentatively try and move forward. 

Well,

I performed a test and It worked as expected:

alemabrahao_0-1666987156427.png