Solved
KarlWyatt
New here

First, Please don't laugh at my code, I'm a network engineer, I've pieced this together from various sources. 

Second, its incomplete. So I know there are things that just don't work. 

So here is what it does. I have cameras that are in close to 200 different networks. In most cases there is 1 camera per network. For quality\compliance reasons I need to review each cameras placement and status at least once quarterly. I found it some what annoying to tackle this via the dashboard so I decided to figure out how to use the API. 

Enter my python script below. When run it asks for the API Key and then I lists the available orgs. Eventually I'll have 3 options 1) snap a pic from all cameras, 2) choose the camera to snap a pic from 3) exit. The first option allows me to just let it run and look later, the second option allows me to pull a specific camera if I want to review one, or check placement after adjustments are made, it lists out networks that have cameras

Okay - now that we are past what it does, I can say it does work.... so long as the camera is online. 

If you look at somewhere around line 39 (if copy and paste works) i have the line "snapurl = dashboard.camera.generateDeviceCameraSnapshot(indv_device['serial'])" 

I need help with some error handling here - if the camera is offline it can't create the snapshot url and throws a 500 error. It still tries because the dashboard knows about the device, but fails. I've tried to use try: with request response but maybe I'm doing something wrong? With the 500 error it just crashes the script with this message - "meraki.exceptions.APIError: camera, generateDeviceCameraSnapshot - 500 Internal Server Error, <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtm"

Does anyone have a tip to error handle a 500 error that maybe just prints "Camera is Unresponsive or Offline" or is there a way to test before the 500 if the device is online?