[Open suggestion] - Bug reporting tool

RaphaelL
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

[Open suggestion] - Bug reporting tool

Hi everyone , 

I'm not sure if I'm the only one living this 'nightmare' in my day-to-day. 

I'm a network engineer for a super large company in Canada. We have lots and lots of devices and features that most smaller company do not use. We encounter bugs with firmware , api endpoints , sometimes documentation and so on on a weekly basis.

Do you guys think that there might be a better way to submit bugs to Meraki other than opening cases ?

Opening cases means that you have to link it to a generic configuration item and fill a description, sometimes I feel like I have to go back and forth with support to send all the correct information  for them to picture the issue. 

RaphaelL_0-1663093000559.png

Filling a bug report ( template ? )  would help me ( and support ) and feels more detailed than a generic case:

Includes screenshots 

Expected behavior

How to reproduce the issue

URL or URI that the issue was found

And more + 

This is not rant.

Meraki support is excellent , just trying to find a way to improve bug reporting.

3 Replies 3
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

I think bug reports must start with a ticket, otherwise you would get millions of bug report cases being opened, and most of them would not be bugs.

Cisco Meraki obviously has an internal bug tracking tool.

I think it would be beneficial to provide customers with a login access to it, to both track the status of their own bugs and to be able to search across bugs.

Exactly like the Cisco bug tracking system ...
http://tools.cisco.com/bugsearch/ 

RaphaelL
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

To be honest , I haven't worked (yet) with any other vendor as a network engineer , I'm also curious to see how they deal with cases / bugs.