Client VPN not able to access local LAN

BeninChurchil
Here to help

Client VPN not able to access local LAN

Hi Experts,

I'm fairly new to Meraki products, So I configured Client VPN on MX67 Security Appliance VPN is working but not able to access local LAN, attached is the picture of both Client VPN & FIrewall page below, please point me what I'm doing wrong here ?

Local LAN Subnet: 192.168.1.0/24

Client VPN Subnet: 192.168.10.0/24

BeninChurchil_0-1714320708272.png

BeninChurchil_1-1714320923982.png

13 Replies 13
KarstenI
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

How did you test it, that you came to the conclusion that it doesn't work? Often enough it is the local firewall on the destination device that drops the traffic.

You can capture on the LAN side of the MX and look if you see the client originated traffic.

JonathanSwitch
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

I see that you have the DNS server setting set to use Google Public DNS. If you're attempting to reach internal resources via hostname, this will fail and you'll need to enter your internal DNS server.

Are you able to ping internal devices on the Local LAN via IP address?

I tried setting up domain as DNS in the Client VPN still not working ? I can't ping to my Domain also ?

More over I found out I don't have a Default gateway for the VPN ? Why ?

BeninChurchil_0-1714325980965.png

Are you attempting or plan to configure split tunneling on your end client?

Can you verify if you have the "use default gateway on remote network" checked or unchecked? See this KB on how to find the setting on the adapter if needed: https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Client_VPN/Configuring_Split_Tunnel_Client_VPN

If you're using MacOS, see the other option on that page, and let me know.

I'm running on Windows 11 Pro

BeninChurchil_0-1714327250105.png

It seems it is checked by default.

BeninChurchil
Here to help

Should I create a static route ? from the VPN Subnet to local subnet ?