[AMA ENDED] Per-Device Licensing AMA with ShawnR, post your questions here!

MerakiShawn
Meraki Alumni (Retired)
Meraki Alumni (Retired)

[AMA ENDED] Per-Device Licensing AMA with ShawnR, post your questions here!

UDPATE: this AMA has ended. Thanks to everyone who asked questions! Any additional questions on per-device licensing can be posted here!

My name is Shawn and I am a Product Manager at Cisco Meraki. I am excited to answer any questions that you have around per-device licensing. Post here any questions you have regarding how per-device licensing works, how you can transition, how you order licenses, etc are all great topics.

I'll be answering questions on December 11th from 9am to 12pm PST, but feel free to start posting your questions now!

In the meantime, here are some great resources to learn more about per-device licensing at Meraki!

Per-device licensing overview 

Per-device licensing walkthrough video 

The science behind per-device licensing 

32 REPLIES 32
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

I've recently spoke with @MerakiShawn , but I do have one question.  What are you the product manage of?

MerakiShawn
Meraki Alumni (Retired)
Meraki Alumni (Retired)

@PhilipDAth I am a Product Manager on the Cloud team here at Meraki. We're responsible for frontend UX, data science, the API platform, and cloud infrastructure. Specifically, I look after frontend UX, data science/analytics, and pieces of our cloud infrastructure. 

SoCalRacer
Kind of a big deal

For starters 😊🍻

What is the target reason for this licensing change/offer?

Is this to help Providers or Clients more?

Will the current licensing ever go EOL?

Can you move per device licenses between orgs?

Can you demonstrate how this licensing is beneficial for partners and clients?

Can you give us ideal use cases for this licensing?

It seems like the licensing is more expensive than current licensing, is that because its more flexible?